Toolbars enhance the capabilities of user software and are installed with the user’s consent. They are not malicious.
However, some toolbars are installed along with other software components. These toolbars make use of special installers that employ a variety of methods to automatically receive permission to install a toolbar, e.g. flagging an “I agree” option by default.
In order to warn users about attempts to install unwanted content, we detect as WebToolbar any toolbars being installed on users’ computers without their permission as well as the associated toolbar installers.